What Are The Different Breeds Of Great Danes

There are many different breeds of Great Danes. The most popular ones are:






When you think of a Great Dane, the first thing that comes to mind is probably their size. They’re the tallest dog breed in the world, standing at 30 inches or more at the shoulder. But there are actually 13 different types of Great Danes! Let’s take a look at each one:

American Kennel Club (AKC) Registries:

The American Kennel Club (AKC) recognizes three types of Great Danes:




What Are The Different Breeds Of Great Danes

Great Danes are one of the oldest breeds of dogs. They were originally bred to hunt wild boar and other large game. The Great Dane is one of the tallest dog breeds in the world, with some dogs reaching over 30 inches at the shoulder and weighing over 200 pounds.

The Great Dane is known as a gentle giant, but they are not recommended for everyone. If you want to get a Great Dane as a pet, here are some things you should consider:

What Size Are Great Danes?

Great Danes come in three different sizes: standard, giant and miniature.

A standard Great Dane weighs between 120 and 150 pounds when fully grown and stands about 28 inches tall at the shoulder. A giant Great Dane weighs between 150 and 175 pounds when fully grown and stands about 34 inches tall at the shoulder. A miniature Great Dane weighs between 35-75 pounds when fully grown and stands about 23 inches tall at the shoulder.

The Great Dane is one of the largest dog breeds. The standard size for a male Great Dane is 30 inches at the shoulder, while the female standard is 28.5 inches. The most important thing to remember when looking for a dog is that you want to make sure that it fits in your home and lifestyle.

The American Kennel Club recognizes five different varieties of Great Danes, including the following:

Great Dane – The “Fawn” variety, or fawn and brindle combination. This coloration is often referred to as “fawn,” but it can also include shades of red or orange-brown.

Harlequin – The Harlequin variety has white patches on its body usually with black patches around them. These spots are usually diamond shaped, but they can be round or spotted as well.

Mantle – Mantled Danes have large splotches of black covering their bodies rather than distinct patches of color like harlequins do. The spots are usually large and irregular in shape and may cover most of their bodies or be concentrated on certain parts such as their heads or hindquarters instead of being spread out evenly across their coats like harlequins are known for doing with theirs

Great Danes are known for their massive size and strong, muscular bodies. The term “Great Dane” refers to the German Mastiff, a large dog that was used in battle and as a hunting dog. The German Mastiff is believed to be the ancestor of all modern Great Danes.

The Great Dane originated in Germany and is considered one of the oldest breeds in existence today. The first written record of a Dane dates back to 1121 B.C., when they were mentioned in Chinese writings.

The name “great” was added later on in order to distinguish these dogs from other types of danes, such as the English Bulldog or French Mastiff.

There are three different types of Great Danes: Fawn, Brindle, and Mantle.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top